An Innovative Work Night Dinner

Happy Wednesday! I am certainly glad to be halfway through this week. I ran after work over by the beach, finishing at the Naples Pier to capture the sunset for my sister’s birthday today. That left me in a good mood and I was feeling creative and healthy tonight and invented a new go-to meal for me! Now I often have breakfast for dinner… and I just love eggs and spinach. So instead of my typical spinach omelet, I ventured out on a limb and made a quiche! This quiche has approximately 190 calories and 30 grams of protein. I baked it in a small ramekin but it would work in any comparable dish.

An easy and quick work night dinner for only 190 calories with 30 grams of protein!

An easy and quick work night dinner for only 190 calories with 30 grams of protein!

Spinach Parmesan Quiche

Ingredients:
1 egg
4 egg whites
2 cups raw spinach
1 Tbsp grated parmesan cheese

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degree. Cook the spinach over medium heat in a skillet. Crack egg and egg whites into a bowl and whisk together. Add the parmesan cheese and cooked spinach and stir. Spray your baking dish with a non-stick cooking spray and pour mixture in. Bake in oven for 20-30 mins. You will know it is fully cooked by inserting a knife into the center and it comes out clean and it is no longer runny or wet.

I plan on making this again soon, incorporating different veggies and flavors in the quiche. Peppers, mushrooms and 2% reduced fat shredded cheddar would be one idea or broccoli and a bit of goat cheese….mmmmm! This recipe is for 1 quiche and if doubled I would recommend baking in two smaller dishes so the quiche would still cook thoroughly. This recipe is definitely a no brainer and made with ingredients that are often on hand…or at least always stocked in my fridge! Let me know any other healthy quiche ideas out there!

Get more of my recipes at: http://carriedawayaboutnutrition.com/Recipe_Rehab.html

The Birthday Sunset

Here is the Birthday Girl’s sunset! It was a great night for my 6 mile run as well and you can’t beat the view at the finish!

3 thoughts on “An Innovative Work Night Dinner

  1. That is an interesting dish. I don’t like spinach, but I am going to use broccoli. I usually to have breakfast a lot for supper.I’ll let you know how it turns out

What are your thoughts?

