A Colorful Weekend!

What did I do this past weekend? Road tripped to meet one of my old college roommates for the Jacksonville Color Run 5k! Along with exploring the city a bit, and hanging out with new friends, we ran in this fun 3.1 mile event. I wanted to write a review on this race for all you runners out there because there is likely a run like this in your area soon.

A beautiful and sunny morning in Jacksonville for The Color Run 5k!

A beautiful and sunny morning in Jacksonville for The Color Run 5k!

One of the great things about this race series is that they raise money for a local charity in the city of the event. As a runner I always appreciate when part of the race entry fee goes towards a good cause. Your entrance fee includes a white t-shirt – perfect for running and getting ‘colorfied’ for the race.

The run was fun. We had a group of 9 people of all abilities, and everyone stayed together during the race. There were 5 color zones to run through where volunteers used squirt bottles to spray you with the cornstarch/dye color. The color is not wet, but a powder. Running through these zones was like going through a cloud… the sunlight was blocked out and it could be hard to see and sometimes hard to breath. Our strategy was to stick to the outside to get as much color as possible! I got plenty of color… and it stuck with me for solid 36 hrs after as well!

A 5K for everyone! Covering some ground between color zones!

A 5K for everyone! Covering some ground between color zones!

At the finish line there was a huge dance party. Let me tell you… it did not feel like 10am! So not only do you get the cardiovascular benefits from the running, there is the dancing as well. The staff really got the crowd pumped up and more color was tossed in the air. We hung out in this giant party for while.There was plenty of water and some post-race snacks to take advantage of as well.

Now, afterwards you should definitely bring some towels for the car. They do have a station where they blow the color powder off of you with a leaf blower, but you are still covered. Make sure you have some good body wash and face scrub and just go ahead and wash your hair about 3 times right off the bat. Dawn dish soap is a good option for getting the color off as well. I had color stains around my elbows and armpits, along with blue/green streaks in my hair and on my scalp for the rest of the weekend.

When I got home I threw all the clothes in the wash. The color came right out of the running shorts. I didn’t do anything to preserve the color in my white race shirt and it mostly washed out too. They sell items to keep the color in and I also believe hairspray works just as well (let hairspray dry before washing). I wish I had sprayed it with something because now it just looks like a t-shirt that is a bit dirty!

I would definitely recommend this event to all my fellow runners, no matter how experienced you are. It is not timed, you have a great time, and it is a great way to get started with running. The Jacksonville morning was a little chilly for my thin Southern Floridian blood, but we warmed up quickly once we started moving! I love these type of fun-runs because I feel that they are expanding the running community and therefore getting more adults to exercise!  This race is not intimidating at all and we saw people of all shapes, sizes and abilities! So do a quick search for a color run in your area, grab your running buddies and sign up for one of these great events!

Produce stand in Plant City, FL... stopped by and picked up delicious strawberries to snack on over the weekend!

Produce stand in Plant City, FL… stopped by and picked up delicious strawberries to snack on over the weekend!

2 thoughts on “A Colorful Weekend!

What are your thoughts?

