Slow Cooker Success!

I can’t decide if I am friends with the slow cooker or not. Since making my New Year’s Resolution, I have been successful with some recipes and have also experienced complete and utter failure with others. My orange chicken burnt to a crisp, there have been mushy vegetables, and some gray unappealing slop, with some decent meals scattered amongst. However, this week I have finally hit the jackpot with the most simple recipe yet – my salsa slow cooker chicken. I pulled components from a variety of recipes found on Pinterest and said a prayer as I dumped it all in. Later in the day I had a momentary freak-out that I never turned the crockpot on, but nonetheless I did and for that I am very thankful! I am glad to finally have a delicious and healthy slow cooker recipe to share with you!

So simple with basic ingredients! Slow cooker salsa chicken is delicious!

So simple with basic ingredients! Slow cooker salsa chicken is delicious!

Salsa Slow Cooker Chicken

Ingredients:
1 package of chicken breasts
1 jar salsa
1 packet of taco seasoning
1 can fat-free refried beans
2% shredded mexican cheese

Directions:
In the morning, place chicken in crock pot and sprinkle with taco seasoning ( I used about 1 tsp). I also used chicken that was straight from the freezer. Dump entire jar of salsa on chicken. Turn crockpot on low. Cook for 6-8 hrs. Shred the chicken with 2 forks and stir. Plate with about ½ cup warmed refried beans with about 1 cup of the shredded chicken salsa mixture. Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Enjoy!

Spread 1/2 cup of fat free refried beans in the bottom of a bowl. Add the slow cooker chicken salsa on top!

Spread 1/2 cup of fat free refried beans in the bottom of a bowl. Add the slow cooker chicken salsa on top!

I was actually gone for 9.5 hrs before arriving home to shred the chicken and it was perfectly fine. I used the microwave to warm the beans so the meal came together really quickly. This was by far the easiest recipe I have attempted, and was by far the tastiest!

The recipe makes about 4 servings and comes in at about 300 calories, with 38g of protein, 12g of fiber, and less than 4 g of fat. This recipe is a winner all around – healthy, delicious, simple and easy!

8 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Success!

What are your thoughts?

