Wow – Wes Speaks Up

Wow. If you had asked me four weeks ago if I would ever voluntarily place myself on a restrictive diet and avoid most of the carb-laden foods that made up my diet at the time, I would have said, “absolutely not!” But as occurs with many things in life, circumstances have changed, and I have found myself in a bit of a health predicament. As Carrie has already informed you, several weeks ago, I had blood drawn as part of a voluntary screening that was made available through my job. Low and behold, the results revealed some pretty worrisome, albeit not entirely unexpected, facts about my health status. My cholesterol was way too high, my fasting blood glucose was high, as was my fasting insulin level. While these factors have no noticeable impact on my life today, without serious dietary modifications, they certainly will in the future.

Now that the serious part has been covered, I’d like to lighten things up by announcing that I recently surpassed my single-meal vegetable intake by a huge margin! Last night’s dinner was officially called zesty chicken soup, but in reality a far more accurate name would be something to the effect of ‘tons of vegetables, wait, is that a zucchini?’ soup. All kidding aside, I was very surprised that I liked it as much as I did. After getting over the massive chunks of tomato, carrots, and zucchini, the flavor was great, and I’ve got to say that it was very good.

Carrie asked me to write a post about more or less anything that I wanted, and I guess the most important thing that I could come up with to write about was that this experience has actually been pretty easy for me. The number one question that I get asked is, “Isn’t it hard to eat that way?” The answer is, simply – not really. I’ve got my personal dietitian planning menus for the week, and answering just about any question I am able to come up with. Not eating carb-laden foods, and largely giving up high-fat foods is really not all that difficult to do when you have a plan, and eat the right kinds of foods instead. I have come to learn that protein is my friend, whereas carbs and fat are to be monitored.

Anyone out there who thinks that they might be at risk for diabetes, high cholesterol, or any other potential ailment, be it due to family history or physical symptoms should give diet modification a try. It’s not that bad, and in the end, there’s really nothing that you cannot eat, in moderation, at least.

Just for pun

The man brought an umbrella with him into the ice cream store because he heard there was a
chance of sprinkles.

5 thoughts on “Wow – Wes Speaks Up

  1. Zesty Chicken Soup – A family favorite and Wes the zucchini is my favorite part – keep up the good work and I think I will try your flatbread pizza for Don.

What are your thoughts?

