I Have Kept My New Year’s Resolution… Have You?

As the 5th month of the year is coming to a close, I am proud to say that I have kept my New Year’s Resolution of using my crock pot every week. Keeping this resolution has simplified my life immensely, coming home to a meal that is already finished is blissful! There have been hiccups along the way… burnt orange chicken and a dud recipe or two, but the journey has been mostly tasty! There are a few reasons I have been successful with my resolution that I am going to share with you.

The latest creation from the crock pot: white bean chicken chili.

The latest creation from the crock pot: white bean chicken chili.

First, I made my goal attainable. If I would have said I am going to cook with the crock pot 3 nights a week, I would have felt overwhelmed as I hadn’t used it in years prior to this resolution. At the same time I also made it specific enough so I didn’t give myself a way out. If I would have said, I am going to use my crock pot more, I may have started off using it in January and February, but let it go in March. Granted I did use it “more”, I wouldn’t have achieved the lasting results and effects of my resolution.

This cook book contains recipes that concentrate on flavor and making crock pot meals into a gourmet experience.

This cook book contains recipes that concentrate on flavor and making crock pot meals into a gourmet experience.

Second, I have vocalized my goal to you my readers, which helps me stay accountable. I have continued to share crock pot recipes and experiences with my readers and family. I have gained support and encouragement, learning that people love these recipes. I also received a crock pot recipe book for my birthday from my parents, showing their support and encouragement. My sister has also adopted my resolution and we chat and share recipes successes and ideas.

Now there is never going to be a good time and if you find a way to create “more” time, please let me know. As I have mentioned, I am starting a free Carried Away About Nutrition Buddy Program. Through this program you will learn how to obtain realistic goals and you will have a personal buddy to support you with your goals. Thank you to those who have signed up! I am looking forward to the inaugural session in June! Remember, both Wes and I are enrolled in the program as well, maybe one of us will be your buddy!

2 thoughts on “I Have Kept My New Year’s Resolution… Have You?

    • It is a great cookbook, more prep is involved before loading the crock pot, like about 20 minutes and they are not always composed with health in mind… And yes! Sign up for the program to get a buddy!

What are your thoughts?

