Here’s to a Happy and Healthy Fourth of July!

Happy Fourth of July America! Wes and I started out the day with the Moe’s Firecracker 5k in Naples. There was a record turnout for this surprisingly beautiful Florida morning. As expected, it was a very flat course (there are no hills in Florida!) of two loops, teasing you halfway with the sight of the finish line. Wes and I both ran about the same that we usually do, which is great since our focus the past couple weeks has been boot camp. I love starting out a holiday morning on a healthy and positive note!

Over 1000 runners this morning! Great feeling to have that workout behind me for the day.

Over 1000 runners this morning! Great feeling to have that workout behind me for the day.

I related in an earlier post that one of my favorite summer foods, or a dish a I connect with summer, is fruit salad. I have prepped a fruit salad to go for our beach day with fireworks. When making a fruit salad I like to think about color to make it pretty. It is also a good way to use up fruit for the week and you really can’t go wrong with any type of fruit. So here is what ended up in my fruit salad today:

3/4 Pineapple

1 Granny Smith

1 Pink Lady

1 Honey Mango

2 Kiwi

2 Peaches

Tip: Leave the skins on washed apples to add vibrant colors and some extra crunch to your fruit salad.

Tip: Leave the skins on washed apples to add vibrant colors and some extra crunch to your fruit salad.

I meant to pick up some red grapes, but they slipped my mind at the store! Now my fruit salad is nicely packed in it’s Tupperware and chilling together in the fridge, ready to go to the beach! We are in for the long haul – sun and games, (the 5pm rain shower), sunset, and fireworks from the pier at 9. Don’t worry, I always wear my sunscreen. Have a Happy Fourth of July everyone! Remember to add some health to the day!

 

What are your thoughts?

