What I’m Eating Wednesday! Recap: July 10, 2013

So today I am starting something new and giving you a sneak peak at this dietitians plate. Welcome to the first What I’m Eating Wednesday! Hopefully you can gain some new healthy ideas for your daily routine and be motivated to eat well. I also have a small point to prove, often I will be educating patients in the hospital and they will say, “well you don’t really eat like this” or “nobody eats like this”! So I am also here to prove them wrong, I do! I do have a huge sweet tooth, so I am not saying I am perfect, just here to inspire healthy eating!

Breakfast: Water with lemon and Apple Quinoa Chicken Meatballs. After drinking so many shakes and smoothies recently, I was feeling a savory breakfast this week. On Sunday evening I made a big batch of these meatballs to last all week. With the protein and whole grain, I easily stay satisfied up until lunch!

Thinking outside the box for breakfast!

Thinking outside the box for breakfast!

Lunch: Lunch Meat “sushi” and fresh red raspberries. So for the lunch meat “sushi”, I first put on a srpead of hummus and mashed avocado, then layered some spinach leaves, added some shredded carrots and rolled right up! I buy Boar’s Head lunch meat, it’s the best out there! This meal is even fun to assemble, just make sure your deli meat is not sliced too thin or the rolling would be a bit frustrating!

Lunch meat "sushi"!

Lunch meat “sushi”!

Pack all the components and roll them up one by one during lunch.

Pack all the components and roll them up one by one during lunch.

Nature's Candy!

Nature’s Candy!

Snack: Larabar – Lemon Bar. What’s great about Larabar’s is that there is no junk added to them, which makes them free from many allergens as well. This seriously tastes like dessert, but I am eating dates and cashews… yum!

Gluten free option!

Gluten free option!

Dinner: Veggies and Quinoa (plus a handful of almonds during the prep). I arrived home a bit later than I planned, leaving me a little too hungry to wait for dinner so I munched on some almonds. I buy quinoa in bulk from the grocery and cook it myself. Tonight I added spinach, carrots, garlic, pine nuts and then stirred in a spoonful of hummus when I took it off the heat. I can only enjoy dinners like this one when Mr. Picky isn’t around… He honestly still wouldn’t touch it and rather than that happen and hurt my feelings, I wait for opportunities when he isn’t around (just like the fish)!

Almonds!

Almonds!

Thrown together on a whim!

Thrown together on a whim!

Snack: Pink Lady and Almond Butter. I am not sure which item I love more. Pink lady apples are so crisp, yet sweet and oh so good (I find the organic ones even better)! The almond butter is creamy and spreadable, perfect for this snack. I also have to admit to putting the spoon back in the jar for a couple extra spoonfuls….

Mmmmm! I have got to work on portion control with this almond butter...

Mmmmm! I have got to work on portion control with this almond butter…

And that’s all folks! That and a lot of water! I am sipping on it all day long. I hope you enjoyed the first What I’m Eating Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “What I’m Eating Wednesday! Recap: July 10, 2013

  1. Carrie –
    Do have the recipe for Apple Quinoa Chicken Meatballs? I did not see it in your recipe section, and it looks like something I would like to try.
    Thanks,
    Chris

What are your thoughts?

