Wes and I Swap Roles!

This week my boyfriend and I are swapping places. Usually I am bossing him around the kitchen, trying to get dinner on the table in a timely manner. I plan a weekly menu, write the grocery list and would be considered the master chef around here. I challenged Wes to take ownership of his health, since I have made his journey towards healthy a bit easier by providing meals that he likes and are healthy. So this is his week to plan our dinner menu, write the grocery list and to boss me around the kitchen.

Interestingly enough, Wes has picked out all new recipes for the week. Also, on his first draft of the menu, he forgot to include pizza! The recipes he chose all focus on whole ingredients rather than a can of this or a can of that. I was very impressed. Honestly, I thought he would have picked out his recent favorites and arrange them to fit our week. As he related to me, his goal is to find some new favorites that are healthy and personally appealing to him.

Sunday is grocery night for us. Wes had sent me his menu and the grocery list earlier in the day, wanting me to review since he is not as familiar with the contents of my pantry. Funny that he planned broccoli as a side for dinner on Monday, but didn’t put it on the grocery list…. intentional? I ended up reviewing all the recipes and he missed a few other ingredients as well, so maybe just a coincidence. We spent the majority of our time at the store in the produce section and that is the way it should be!

I am not sure I am going to like being the sous chef in the kitchen. I am going to have to hold myself back from taking the lead.This also means I am responsible for clean up… hopefully Wes isn’t as messy as I am! It will also be a change for me, since I barely ever follow a recipe, and always modify it when I do. I will be sure to share links and comments for our favorite meals this week.

Here is Wes’ menu for the week:

Monday: Honey Mustard and Red Onion Barbecued Chicken with Broccoli

Tuesday: Steak with Chickpeas Tomatoes and Feta

Wednesday: Chicken Tacos with Mango Avocado Salsa

Thursday: Old Fashioned Meatloaf

Friday: Pizza night

Saturday: Family Party (no meal planned for this night)

Sunday: Chicken with White Beans and Tomatoes

What are your thoughts?

