What I’m Eating Wednesday! Recap: July 31, 2013

It is pantry clean out week, aka no trip to the grocery store. You may notice my dinner is lacking a vegetable (but my boyfriend ate at least one cup of peas) because pickings are starting to run slim. For breakfast I ate up the pint of blueberries that was left from this weekend and had a handful of almonds. I found these almonds in Wes’ pantry, no telling how long they have been there….

A little bit of this and little bit of that after my 3 miles this morning.

A little bit of this and little bit of that after my 3 miles this morning.

Lunch was one of my versions of tuna salad. Cans of tuna are great to keep on hand, especially for weeks like this one.  I used one can of tuna with two tablespoons of hummus. I squeezed in the juice from half of a lemon and sprinkled in some celery powder. I incorporated some steamed spinach and matchstick carrots as my veggies. To me this is good enough to eat plain. It would also work nicely over a crisp salad.

I love tuna salad! I don't care if you think it stinks!

I love tuna salad! I don’t care if you think it stinks!

I was most excited about my snack today. I found something new at a specialty store in Naples. This roasted chickpea snack, the Good bean lived up to my expectations! I tried the sea salt today, described as lightly dusted with coarse salt. To me, this was more than a dusting, and should satisfy anyone’s need for a salty crunchy snack. I am excited to try some of their other flavors like sweet cinnamon and cracked pepper. I have also roasted my own chickpeas in the oven to make a similar snack, it is easy to do and more cost effective (even though I picked up this pack on sale!)

Try it out! Gluten free!

Try it out! Gluten free!

You can see just how salty this snack was...

You can see just how salty this snack was…

I have to admit that dinner tonight wasn’t what you would call the most well rounded. Wes and I made chicken paninis with gluten free bread. Mine was chicken, pesto and feta and Wes created a chicken, mustard, mozzarella panini. First we cooked the chicken in olive oil and thyme, then shredded it thin to lay on the bread. The gluten free, white rice bread was a bit frustrating, but held it’s own once toasted. This bread is just very fragile and did fall apart soon after the first bite. Wes ended up in over a cup of peas, which happened to be left in the freezer. I am just not a huge fan of peas, so I let him get all the greens tonight.

A panini needs a nice sauce, some cheese and a protein! Melted between two slices of bread!

A panini needs a nice sauce, some cheese and a protein! Melted between two slices of bread!

Nothing special from this angle... gluten free bread!

Nothing special from this angle… gluten free bread!

Lastly, I am afraid that I can’t reveal how much chocolate I have had today! I have practically lost count! As I write this, I realize I stressed and anxious I have been these past couple days, ready for Friday morning to jump on that plane and take me home! I am very grateful to have the opportunity to have a break from work and the daily grind, for some Midwest love and relaxation.

This was not the only piece, or form that chocolate was consumed in today... ah! I have a 6am date with the elliptical in the morning!

This was not the only piece, or form that chocolate was consumed in today… ah! I have a 6am date with the elliptical in the morning!

Stay tuned for next weeks, What I’m Eating Wednesday… it is bound to be a little out of the norm and likely include at least one meal out. I am pretty sure it is going to be a family pizza night at a Cincinnati favorite, LaRosa’s. You can catch this dietitian eating pizza, oh my!

What are your thoughts?

