What I’m Eating Wednesday, Wisconsin Edition! Recap: August 14, 2013

We are well into our adventures and enjoying our second half of the trip with Wes’ parents in Wisconsin. Today’s What I’m Eating Wednesday features the flavors of Wes’ youth as we took a day trip into Green Bay. Some of these eating adventures may explain why Wes had a LDL cholesterol of 164

Special treat!

Special treat!

Coffee is not an everyday thing for me, and I have just recently developed the taste for it (as long as it is not black and doesn’t taste like actual coffee). Wes’ dad picked me up a hazelnut latte this morning and the warm drink was very welcomed being it in the low 50s this morning!

Had to get some protein in!

Had to get some protein in!

We got on the road and stopped at a small diner for breakfast on the way to Green Bay. I ended up choosing a la carte items to avoid a large meal platter with potatoes, that if in front of me, I would end up eating. This was definitely homemade and fresh cooking. What I commend a place like this for is that we had pure maple syrup for our french toast and pancakes, not a commercialized product with high fructose corn syrup. The eggs were eggs. Everything was made as ordered and prepared fresh, not something sitting under a warmer. Wes inevitably ate a pancake the size of his head and much more.

Famous for their secret recipe chili and yes, it was very good!

Famous for their secret recipe chili and yes, it was very good!

Not only did we drive through Green Bay, we took a tour of Wes’ high school and stopped off at the mall for a walking break. Our destination lunch, or second meal of the day, was at Kroll’s. According to Wes Kroll’s is famous for almost everything and he literally wanted to order the entire menu. I ultimately had a “sampler platter” of a cup of chilli, half a butter burger, fried cheese curds, fried cauliflower buds and a side salad. They have a signature chili, much like Skyline in Cincinnati (which we did indulge in twice during our visit). I actually prefer this Kroll’s chili after just my first cup, and it is served over noodles, much like a 3-way without cheese. Now I will never understand what inspired someone to put a slab of butter on a burger, but that is what the do around here. I had half of said burger and I don’t really ever need another burger with butter. Like I said, we don’t have to wonder so much of how my skinny-fat boyfriend came about.

I really can't believe this! And I reached my quota for butter burgers for my lifetime!

I really can’t believe I ate this! And I reached my quota for butter burgers for my lifetime!

Wisconsin is also famous for cheese curds. Yesterday we visited a cheese factory and learned about cheese making and sampled “squeaky cheese”. This “squeaky cheese” is very fresh and actually squeaks between your teeth as you chew. Today we had the fried version of the cheese curds. It taste a lot like mozzarella sticks, with better cheese. We also shared some fried cauliflower buds, which were pretty yummy. Wes still refused to try the cauliflower even when prepared this way.

I tried a little bit of everything! Even got some veggies in!

I tried a little bit of everything! Even got some veggies in!

And I would love to tell you that this is the end of the show for today….. but we picked up some Edy’s ice cream on the way home and it is vacation :) By the way, Wisconsin is truly a beautiful state. I have been a little cold here or there and could never survive through winters, but their summers definitely have some charm!

dessert :)

dessert :)

2 thoughts on “What I’m Eating Wednesday, Wisconsin Edition! Recap: August 14, 2013

What are your thoughts?

