I Really Wanted Those Shoes, But Then I Got Engaged

So the title reveals the results of our Super Trip challenge. Neither one of us succeeded to maintain our weight within two pounds. That means no new shoes for me and no movie night for Wes. However, there is a strong possibility that these results are in direct correlation to the our engagement. You can probably guess that neither one of us is all that concerned about movies or shoes right now! Yes, Wes proposed! That skinny-fat boyfriend is all mine for life!

Shout out to my sister's boyfriend for this awesome shot on the ground that Wes proposed!

Shout out to my sister’s boyfriend for this awesome shot on the ground that Wes proposed!

We really valued the time spent with family and friends and enjoyed the change of scenery (especially getting away from the humidity and summer rains of Florida). We were busy and active most everyday, including a weekend of watersports, a weekend of rock climbing and hiking, more hiking and some leisurely touring of local sights.

We stayed active and close to nature the entire trip.

We stayed active and close to nature the entire trip.

Food and drinks were both enjoyed and indulged upon on many occasions, as we really had something to celebrate! As you may have read from my Cincinnati and Wisconsin editions of What I’m Eating Wednesday, the local fare is not always the healthiest.

The best part of the trip is that in the end we really felt truly refreshed, de-stressed, and re-energized. It was a true vacation from our life here in Florida, including in the food and exercise department, and by the end we were ready for protein fruit smoothies and turkey burgers to re-enter our lives. Prior to the trip we had registered online for a half marathon in November, and we will begin building our mileage next week. It is very exciting to me that Wes and I and embarking on life’s journey totally committed and together now, which grants me a lifelong partner to maintain good health and quality of life with as well.

So happy! So excited!

So happy! So excited!

And yes, we are eating a bit lighter this week and the exercise is going to be amped up. Although I gained more than I had hoped, I have confidence in my ability to reign it in… after all, I’m going to have to walk down that aisle soon!

2 thoughts on “I Really Wanted Those Shoes, But Then I Got Engaged

What are your thoughts?

