What I’m Eating Wednesday! Recap: August 21, 2013

This week is all about getting back on track especially in the food department. On vacation we ate out at least one meal almost every single day and dessert was expected, not a rare occasion. An afternoon cocktail or a few drinks at night were also pretty standard with the social outing we were on.

 

So today was kicked of with a protein smoothie. Here is what I standardly add in a smoothie:

 

½ cup liquid – unsweetened almond milk or 100% fruit juice are my go-to choices

1 tbsp ground flax seed

1 scoop protein powder

raw spinach

½ -¾ cup frozen or fresh fruit

Mango hiding at the bottom!

Mango hiding at the bottom!

This morning I had a combo of frozen berries with some fresh mango.

Surprisingly, this open face sandwich stays together very well.

Surprisingly, this open face sandwich stays together very well.

The lunch I had today is quickly becoming one of my favorites, the rice cake open faced sandwich. I spread a layer of hummus then add my spinach and sliced tomato and top with some Boar’s Head low sodium deli meat. I love the crunchy (and slightly saltiness) of the rice cakes. There are so many creations to explore in this category and I don’t care what my father says, rice cakes do not taste like cardboard!

Gluten free! Low calorie! Low fat!

Gluten free! Low calorie! Low fat!

 

My snack was the reliable larabar. Blueberry muffin is my favorite flavor right now :)

I want to try and make my own soon!

I want to try and make my own soon!

I am pretty proud of my dinner salad tonight. I got inspiration from Wes’ mom who always makes the best salad with fruit and nuts and this and that and they are always unique and always really good. So I added diced mango, edamame, shoestring carrots, and a seed/nut/dried fruit trail mix on top of my spinach. It was so good! The burger (left over from the other night) was really just a side and the salad was the star of the meal.

Yummy salad!

Yummy salad!

Lastly, my evening snack tonight is brought to you by goodies.co. I am subscribed to this really cool program that sends a tasters box to my house once a month with snacks and new food products. It is neat to try things that either aren’t in the stores around here or yet to hit the shelves. So while I am typing this up I munched on some naturals Garden Veggie Crisps with my favorite hummus!

I love getting my box and seeing what's in it every month!

I love getting my box and seeing what’s in it every month!

Blogging and snacking!

Blogging and snacking!

 

Today was much less exciting than my past two weeks on vacation, but hopefully you can pick up a healthy idea or two from today!

What are your thoughts?

