Back To School

I can’t really believe summer is over! Most kids are already back in school, and I myself start my first class for my Masters in Nutrition and Wellness Program tomorrow. For families, the start of school can mean that the weekly schedule gets filled up with homework and extracurriculars, but even with less free time in your day, a healthy lifestyle should not be sacrificed.

After 2 years in the real world, time to work on my Masters!

After 2 years in the real world, time to work on my Masters!

Even I have to figure out how to juggle homework amongst working full time, half marathon training, blogging and having a bit of a social life. Therefore, this week I am simplifying the menu that I normally make. Instead of cooking 5-7 different dinners, I am just making two recipes. Tonight I made two pounds of turkey quinoa meatballs (see a version of this recipe here) and a large garden salad. Tuesday, I have a pretty clear evening so I am going to make a large batch of zesty chicken soup, one of my families favorites (which I will have to share here soon). This frees up more of my time and guarantees I have healthy choices on hand don’t give in to the convenience of picking up this or that.

Here are my back to school tips for good nutrition:

  • Batch prepare nutritious meals on weekends or during free time

  • Have dinner as a family every night

  • Stock up on healthy ingredients including veggies and fruits to add to meals

  • Freeze left overs and stow for a hectic night

  • Plan a weekly menu, taking into account extracurricular activities and amount of time

  • Don’t give in to the drive through!

  • Choose simple recipes with short ingredient lists for during the week

  • Stock up on reusable tupperware and freezer bags for batch cooking and leftovers

The bottom line is – be prepared! If you don’t have a plan or a resolution to feed your family nutritious meals you are more likely cave to fast food and convenience items that are full of empty calories. Plan a menu, routinely grocery shop on the same night to simplify your life and the maintain good nutrition throughout the week.

A family that eats regular healthy family dinners together is a happy family! During college I made it home almost every Sunday night for a family dinner.

A family that eats regular healthy dinners together is a happy family! During college I made it home almost every Sunday night for a family dinner.

3 thoughts on “Back To School

What are your thoughts?

