What I’m DOING Wednesday! Recap: September 11, 2013

Today I am giving you a break from my picture food diary to focus on physical activity and what I am DOING. I try and included physical activity all day long and avoid sitting in one spot for too long.

I love my New Balance shoes! Probably because I am a clutz and that is why these are the only shoes I can run or walk comfortably in ;)

I love my New Balance shoes! Probably because I am a clutz… and that is why these are the only shoes I can run or walk comfortably in ;)

This morning I had an early 6am start and went for a 2 mile walk to get the day started. That’s right, I got up before I needed to, in order to go for a walk. When I got outside there was still a sky full of bright stars. It was comfortable without too much humidity, a refreshing way to start the day.

Up and down, up and down... always take the stairs!

Up and down, up and down… always take the stairs!

At work I always take the stairs. I have worked at the hospital for about one year now and I honestly could not tell you which elevator goes where, but I could show you some stairs! I am routinely going up and down to visit patients, go to the cafeteria and occasionally just up and out of my way to go to a bathroom that is further away. When I sit down to chart I also take note of the time and try and get up within an hour to avoid being sedentary for too long.

I did a 20 minute warm up on the elliptical prior to class, sorry for the blurry pic, no slowing down!

I did a 20 minute warm up on the elliptical prior to class, sorry for the blurry pic, no slowing down!

Tonight I went to Power class at my gym. I go to this class because it forces me to life weights. As a runner I mainly run, and don’t prioritize other physical activity. Recently I have learned and gained the benefits from weight training. Not only does it aid in metabolism by increasing lean body mass, I also see more definition and feel tone when I routinely lift weights. No more wimpy girl here! I like Power class because it is set to music and led by an instructor. I wouldn’t be focused or disciplined if I tried lifting weight on my own, but in this class we go for one whole hour!

This view from my window got me outside to enjoy the day falling.

This view from my window got me outside to enjoy the day falling.

Bueaty!

Beauty!

This evening I was just pulled outside at dusk for another little walk. I really couldn’t help myself, I wanted to be outside (and it was much more desirable than writing a paper for school). I also feel better and less bloated when I go for a walk after eating a meal.

Check out my calorie burn and step counter!

Check out my calorie burn and step counter!

Uploads instantly to my phone so I can check my progress throughout the day.

Uploads instantly to my phone so I can check my progress throughout the day.

Daily I wear a bodymedia device that measures my steps and calories burned. It syncs with my phone through Bluetooth and it helps get me moving throughout the day. You can see the elevated caloric burn during my morning walk, Power class and evening walk. If you have any questions about bodymedia, just ask!

I hope I have inspired you to keep moving all day long! Remember to get up throughout the day and walk around or stand while on a phone call. Incorporate more walks throughout the day and especially in the evening, when most people like to plant themselves on the couch.

What are your thoughts?

