Spaghetti Squash Novice

A surprisingly easy meal!

A surprisingly easy meal!

I have been procrastinating on this kitchen adventure for far too long! I am not sure why I was intimidated by a squash… but these things happen! I was pleasantly surprised how easy and simple it was to make spaghetti squash. While I absolutely loved the results, Wes was a pretty harsh critic tonight…. complaining about the texture. However, don’t let his immature taste buds keep you from trying this simple dish!

The hardest part was cutting it in half! Make sure you have a sharp knife!

The hardest part was cutting it in half! Make sure you have a sharp knife!

How to make spaghetti squash:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees

  • Cut the squash in half

  • Remove pulp – this reminded me a lot of a pumpkin

  • Spray baking sheet with nonstick spray and place face down

  • Bake for 30 minutes

  • Shred with fork and scoop into bowl

  • Season the squash

Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees

Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees

I seasoned my spaghetti squash with pesto, cilantro and parmesan cheese. I paired it with italian seasoned chicken with tomato, pine nuts, and carrots. If you ask me it was delicious. If you ask Wes, he could take or leave the squash (he was really hoping there was pasta noodles growing in the squash).

I am thinking greek style would also be delicious!

I am thinking greek style would also be delicious!

What I learned:

  • Making spaghetti squash is easy

  • One squash makes A LOT of spaghetti

  • Spaghetti squash are a bit pricey (it’s 5.99$ price tag surprised me)

  • There is not much flavor = opportunity to create and season away

  • Some people may have a “texture” issue with it

Bonus sunset! just because!

Bonus sunset! just because!

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Novice

  1. I think the price may be due to your location. I’m in St. Louis and all fall squash (spaghetti, acorn, butternut) is something like $1/pound right now. Maybe even less…
    Don’t be scared…they are all delicious and super easy!!

What are your thoughts?

