Tonight’s dinner brought to you by procrastination!

I hardly ever wait to the last minute. It figures that the week of my parents visitis also the last week of my online class, biostatistics. This is not one of those classes that I have really enjoyed at all, so no surprise that tonight I got a little distracted (and creative) in the kitchen. Even though I have discussion boards, a chapter to read, some practice problems and a final looming over my head, I figured I better share my awesome creation from the kitchen.

What a meal!

What a meal!

Since we are all stocked up on fresh, organic produce from the Collier Family Farms Market CSA program, I am going to be prepping up plenty of fresh vegetables. I also realize that sharing these pictures and recipes this time of year is not as relevant for you Northerners with all the snow, but you can bookmark it for a summers day.

Tastes as good as it looks!

Tastes as good as it looks!

Tonight I made flaxseed coated chicken, quinoa, and squash. This time around, I seasoned the chicken bites with paprika, onion and garlic powder which gave a mild yet really nice flavor. I cooked the quinoa with a couple of pressed garlic cloves to give it a little flavor. The real ingenious creation tonight was the yellow squash and zucchini. I used two mini yellow squash and one zucchini, diced them up, coated with a little olive oil and Italian seasoning and then stacked them vertically in a baking ramekin. The goat cheese crumbles brought this side to a whole new gourmet level. I baked the dish at 400 degrees fahrenheit for about 30 minutes.

Simple and easy!

Simple and easy!

Wes was quick to brag that he ate ½-1 cup of the cooked vegetables (along with the rest of his plate). Whenever he eats any vegetables, it makes me real happy :) Now that I have shared this with you all, I guess it is time to get down to business, wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Tonight’s dinner brought to you by procrastination!

What are your thoughts?

