Eggplant Lasagna

I was told that my creativity would soar when I focused in on this plant based diet, and that has been so true! Since I am constantly stocked with fresh produce, thanks to our farmers market CSA, I had a striped eggplant to eat. Thankfully, my hubby to be, AKA veggie-hater, had fed himself, so the eggplant became the center of my meal. I didn’t think twice, didn’t hold back and walah… vegan, gluten-free eggplant lasagna.

The final product!

The final product!

First, I preheated the oven to 375 and sliced my eggplant into ¼-½” rounds. Then I mixed ground flaxseed, cornmeal, garlic powder, onion powder and italian seasonings in a bowl. I sprayed two non-stick cooking sheet with PAM and then brushed the eggplant with olive oil and coated it in the “bread crumb” mix. Then I baked for 20 minutes, flipped the eggplant slices over and baked for another 20 minutes. By the way this is not your 30 minute meal, unfortunate, but worth the time and effort! I then grabbed a small baking dish and my tomato sauce and layered eggplant, sauce, eggplant, sauce, eggplant sauce, etc. Back in the oven for 10 minutes… and then it is (finally) done!

The prep work is easy only about 10 minutes, It just has to bake forever!

The prep work is easy only about 10 minutes, It just has to bake forever!

Bake 20 then flip and bake 20 again!

Bake 20 then flip and bake 20 again!

I served my eggplant lasagna on a bed of quinoa the first night and a bed of cannellini white beans the second night. DELICIOUS! As I was about to take the first bite, I was thinking this would be nice with cheese… at least parmesan on top! After tasting it, I didn’t miss it at all! This is a really good one folks! It doesn’t matter if you follow a gluten free diet or avoid dairy, any veggie lover would totally enjoy this meal. As for Wes, he won’t even take that bite :(

So so good!! Didn't even miss the cheese!

So so good!! Didn’t even miss the cheese!

One thought on “Eggplant Lasagna

  1. Wow!! This looks wonderful. Eggplant is one of my favourite ingredients – such a great vegetable! Plus, it makes for very tasty meals :) Great idea about the quinoa too – I bet that would add a great finishing touch. Will have to try this lovely recipe. :)

What are your thoughts?

