Sometimes things flop

Sometimes things flop. Like the goetta I made for Easter brunch. I was able to salvage the batch but it was just not quite right. I should’ve bit my tongue instead of challenging the Cincinnatians to a goetta cook off on facebook. However, I have a good 7 months before I visit again… so plenty of time to perfect my recipe. I am pretty sure I rushed through a stage or two and ended up with soggy goetta in the pan Sunday morning. Although my fiance’s family still enjoyed it, whatever it was, it was not authentic goetta. Additionally, the gluten free baked french toast was absolutely delicious!

This is what I was hoping my goetta would turn out like… instead of the mushy mess it was!

I’d like to blame it on our current living situation (renting a furnished place temporarily) with most all of my cooking equipment tucked away in storage while Wes and I wait on our house to be done. I miss my cooking gadgets – my crockpot, my garlic press, my magic bullet and the list goes on and on. Or I could blame the electric flat stove top. I can’t get used to cooking on that AND I make a huge mess on the cooktop surface every single day.

Really missing my crock pot! Why oh why did I put it in storage!?! Saves so much time and energy!

Really missing my crock pot! Why oh why did I put it in storage!?! Saves so much time and energy!

Sometimes things do not go according to plan. Like moving into our new home by the end of March. If you haven’t noticed it is almost May. When we embarked down this path last October, we really were hopefully that the project would be completed on time. I am learning to be patient and to not worry about the things I can’t change. On the bright side I get to pick out my kitchen cabinets, flooring and countertops this week… things are starting to roll.

On the bright side... this is OUR HOUSE!! Can't wait to share with you all the completion of this project!

On the bright side… this is OUR HOUSE!! Can’t wait to share with you all the completion of this project!

Sometimes life puts your struggles in perspective. All I have to say is people are precious. Remember to live each day with a grateful heart and to share love with those around you. My struggles shared above are just a tiny drop in ocean problems and I have many more blessings to count instead. The older I get, there are more people in my life to love. My family grows and so does my heart. Keep in mind what is really important and count your blessings, not your problems.

Here are some of my blessing! A collage of some recent pics of family :)

Here are some of my blessing! A collage of some recent pics of family :)

2 thoughts on “Sometimes things flop

What are your thoughts?

