Health benefits of four legged family members

Really quickly I am going to run down the benefits of owning a pet:

  • Happiness
  • Joy
  • Elation
  • Reduce stress
  • Lower blood pressure
  • Keep you active
  • Fun
  • Workout buddy

Okay so I know that was mostly anecdotal information, but here comes the big announcement!!!! This is our puppy!

First family photo!!

First family photo!!

He is a yellow Labrador retriever and he will be ours as soon as he is old enough to leave his mama. He has big shoes to fill… I was raised with a yellow lab named Dewey, and he was and ever shall be the worlds best dog. Dewey was a real member of our family, he followed the rules and loved us unconditionally.

I sure miss this dog! He was the most loyal friend and best family dog! We love you Dewey!

I sure miss this dog! He was the most loyal friend and best family dog! We love you Dewey!

This photo was taken 12 days after birth... hard to believe he will be over 80 lbs someday soon!

This photo was taken 12 days after our new puppy’s birth… he is the largest out of all of his siblings :)

Now our little guy is pretty tiny right now, but he should be over 80 pounds! I can’t wait to have a new walking buddy and for all the adventures Wes and I will have with him.

Check out this awesome infographic that collects some of the sciency stats for you! I told you dogs are good for your health :)

Here’s the science and the stats.

3 thoughts on “Health benefits of four legged family members

  1. Congrats on your newest family member, adorable!

    My hubby and I lost our 2 1/2 yr old pup to a chronic disease a couple weeks ago and miss her terribly. We decided to foster a dog right now to save him from being put down… he’s a skinny little thing full of worms but we are working on nursing him back to health. When we do… I have a feeling we may not be able to let him go. :)

    A home is so much happier with a dog in it! Thanks for sharing the adorableness of your puppy!

    • Thank you! I am so sorry to hear about your pup :( Losing a dog, no matter what age, is very hard. I think it is awesome that you have opened your home to help out a dog in need :) I bet he would love to stay forever :)

What are your thoughts?

