I am who I am because of you

Mother’s Day is a great chance for me to reminisce and share a little about my whirlwind trip back home in March for my bridal shower. I am so lucky and blessed to have these amazing women as my family and friends. On that Sunday in March they helped stock our kitchen and lended their support and encouragement. I have so many women to look up to and who have all shaped me into this person who is at home in the kitchen and fearless in that domain.

My new "Carried Away About Nutrition" apron! This was specially made from scraps of my grandmother's old jean jumpers :)

My new “Carried Away About Nutrition” apron! This was specially made from scraps of my grandmother’s old jean jumpers :)

Living so far away from my big family has shown me just how far love and support can go. Visits home fly by in a blink of an eye, as there is so much to do and so many people to see. When Wes and I move into our new home we will think of these family members and friends every day as I am always cooking!

Love you all and happy Mother's Day!

Love you all and happy Mother’s Day!

Ultimately, I would not be this crazy blogging RD without my own mom who made sure that I was skilled in the kitchen. She is the kind of mom who always has an apron on (because she makes a mess too;) and is up to something in the kitchen. She loves to have all the kids (and grandpups) at the house and serve a nice meal. My family gathers in the kitchen, around my mom, as she is banging pots and pans around and cooking up a storm. I get my love of cooking, baking, food, and this part of myself from my mom… I have so much to be thankful for!

This picture captures my mom perfectly... in her apron, preparing all the food!

This picture captures my mom perfectly… in her apron, preparing all the food!

So again, Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms I know and thank you again for preparing Wes and I in our journey of life together!

What are your thoughts?

