Goodbye to all my wisdom (teeth)

Thankfully, I am finally on the other side of the hump and feeling much better after having 3 wisdom teeth removed on Thursday. So what does a dietitian eat on a soft food diet? Besides a couple servings of ice cream (which I inevitably deserved) I have concocted a few nutritional choices to help me mend.

Protein Pudding

Ingredients:

1 ready to eat pudding cup

1 scoop protein powder

Unsweetened almond milk

Directions:

Scrape pudding into a bowl add a scoop of protein powder and add almond milk to moisten and stir together.

Supplementing the pudding with protein provides some additional nutrition in a soft diet consisting mainly of carbohydrates (applesauce, yogurt, ice cream, etc). This also helps keep one feeling satisfied on a soft/liquid meal plan.

Refried bean bowl

Also an easy throw together dinner or snack!

Also an easy throw together dinner or snack!

Ingredients:

½ cup refried beans

½ cup cottage cheese

2 Tbsp guacamole

shredded cheese (if you can handle it – still requires a bit of chewing)

Directions:

Spread refried beans in the bottom of a microwavable bowl and heat for about 30 seconds (just to warm them). Add cottage cheese, guacamole and cheese. Done!

Packed with protein, fiber and healthy fats!

Packed with protein, fiber and healthy fats!

With all the sweet tasting soft foods I was dying for something a bit more savory. This little concoction is a nice change while my mouth is healing.
I did have some pretty extreme swelling the past two days, but luckily I am starting to look less like a chipmunk this morning! As always with these types of oral procedures it is best to follow all those instructions – take your meds and use ice! I do not remember the car ride home and I really hope Wes didn’t take any ridiculous video of me either! Ultimately, I have the best distraction in the world from my pain and misery… our new puppy is home!

He loves his food!

He loves his food!

What are your thoughts?

