Small Wins

Do not write the whole day off. You know what I am talking about. So you already had that cake from the breakroom, why bother cooking tonight? You already ate 3 cookies, what’s a couple more? You only have 30 minutes for a workout, it’s not worth it. These decisions are not insignificant.

I am telling you these small choices matter! Even if you have had two cocktails and you order water the next time the waitress comes around, that is a small win. Once a choice is made that doesn’t align with health goals, it seems easy to excuse yourself from your commitment for the rest of the day. I want you to take every decision and every moment as fresh opportunity. Forget about your history (it is probably keeping you from reaching your goals).

My recent small wins:

I fit in a 20 minute workout  – I was not planning to workout on Friday because my parents were flying in. I found myself with 30 minutes to spare. So I hit the treadmill for an interval run.

I didn’t eat the entire container of mixed nuts – I will tell you one handful turned into two, which turned into three. That’s when I made the conscious decision to stop.

I skipped the bedtime snack – This is such a part of my normal routine, however we had gone out to dinner so I did not actually need it.

Impromptu run at 8:54 pm... after the impulse buy (dark chocolate) at Whole Foods, why not?

Impromptu run at 8:54 pm… after the impulse buy (dark chocolate) at Whole Foods, why not?

What are your small wins?

What are your thoughts?

